You’ve probably experienced meetings that start out like a rocket being launched and then, slowly and surely, fizzle out. Sometimes it even seems as the amount of energy you’ve put into the meeting is irrelevant, because there’s always one or two thrust killers that always succeed in watering down targets.

In today’s article, read about how to defuse the thrust killers with an easy, yet radical tactic and never give them a chance to bring down your endeavor.

The 5-Step Thrust Canceller

A widespread process for not achieving targets and saving face unfolds over these 5 phases:

  1. Agree,
  2. Complicate,
  3. Water down,
  4. Peter out and
  5. Forgive

Targets which were once agreed get divided into ever-smaller, interlinked sub-targets, rendering the original targets increasingly unclear until they are barely recognizable. In the end, commiserations are expressed (“Well … we tried!”) and, on the surface, lift the mood. The targets however remain unachieved. 

The more process freedoms are given to those participating in meetings and reporting, the easier it is for this process to get rolling. These freedoms are, however, seldom openly communicated as being such. But if the only specification for a report presentation is that the company logo be placed in the top-left corner, the door is opened to (unconscious) meandering: It becomes easy to place personal and political agendas in the foreground, which often become a grateful topic of discussion. The content, howver, slips into the background. The first phase of the 5-phase-thrust-killing engine starts up.

Alignment Incentive: Cloverleaf Constraints

Meetings and reports aren’t jam sessions, they are not the place to improvise or promote oneself. Our Cloverleaf Constraints measure is a formal structure that helps counteract all meandering and to nip the thrust killers in the bud. It makes it easy to emphasize quantifiable criteria and put the handbrake on self-promotion and thereby contributes to results being presented, rather than process reports or those based on personal experience.

It consists of four quadrants:

  1. A simple representation of the project definition
  2. The key performance indicators relevant to the measure
  3. The effect that the measure is supposed to achieve
  4. The current status of the measure

Download Template: Cloverleaf Constraints

We suggest you introduce a new rule in your meetings and reports and enforce it consistently: A measure will be discussed only if the presenter adheres to the Cloverleaf Constraints template. Some friction might arise at first as the self-promoters will be robbed of PowerPoint, their favorite instrument for self-promotion. However, in the medium-term, and above all, the long-term, you will see measurable improvements.

What’s Keeping us Busy

During the past months, we’ve been working on a new book on the topic “Challenges for HR.” In it, we write about topics such as efficient recruiting, performance management and how productive cooperation can be developed between colleagues from different age groups. Have you any input on these topics? Topic wishes for the book? Or are there any problem areas that you keep spotting in HR? Tell us!

Wer kennt sie nicht: Meetings, die wie eine Rakete hochenergetisch „abheben“ und dann, laaangsam und sicher, verpuffen? Manchmal scheint es sogar, als wäre es unerheblich, mit wie viel Energie Sie in das Meeting einsteigen, denn die „Schubvernichter“ schaffen es immer, Beschlüsse im Sande verlaufen zu lassen.

Lesen Sie im heutigen Artikel über das Fünf-V-Modell der Schubvernichtung … und wie Sie es mit einer durchgreifenden Taktik lösen.

Das Fünf-V-Modell der Schubvernichtung

Ein verbreiteter Prozess, um gesichtswahrend Ziele nicht zu erreichen, funktioniert in diesen 5 Phasen:

  1. Vereinbaren,
  2. Verkomplizieren,
  3. Verwässern,
  4. Versanden und
  5. Vergeben.

Dabei werden einmal beschlossene Ziele in immer kleinere und miteinander verknüpfte Sub-Ziele unterteilt, wodurch die ursprünglichen Ziele zunehmend unklarer werden, bis sie schließlich kaum noch erkennbar sind. Zum Schluss äußert man dann Beileid („Wir haben es ja versucht!“) und rettet zwar oberflächlich die Stimmung, realisiert die Ziele jedoch nicht.

Je mehr Prozess-Freiheiten die Teilnehmer von Meetings und Reportings genießen, umso leichter kommt dieser Prozess ins Rollen. Dabei werden diese Freiheiten selten offen als solche kommuniziert. Wenn jedoch die einzige Vorgabe für eine Berichts-Präsentation lautet, man solle das Firmenlogo oben links plazieren, wird dem (unbewussten) Abschweifen Tür und Tor geöffnet: Es wird leicht, die persönliche und politische Agenda in den Vordergrund zu stellen, die oft zum dankbaren Diskussionsthema werden. Dann rücken Inhalte in den Hintergrund, und der Schubvernichter bekommt erste Energie.

Zugvogel-Impuls: Grenzen setzen mit dem Maßnahmen-Kleeblatt\

Meetings und Reportings sind keine jam sessions, kein Ort zum Improvisieren oder um sich selbst darzustellen. Mit dem Maßnahmen-Kleeblatt haben wir eine formale Struktur entwickelt, um Abschweifungen entgegenzuwirkenund den Schubvernichter im Keim zu ersticken. Das Kleeblatt hilft, objektiv(ierbar)e Kritieren zu betonen und Selbstdarstellung zu bremsen. Dadurch trägt es dazu bei, dass Ergebnisse präsentiert werden und nicht etwa Prozess- oder Erlebnisberichte.

Es besteht aus vier Quadranten:

  1. Eine schlichte Darstellung der Projektdefinition
  2. Die für die Maßnahme relevanten Key-Performance-Indikatoren
  3. Die Wirkung, die die Maßnahme erzielen soll
  4. Der aktuelle Status der Maßnahme

Vorlage herunterladen: Maßnahmen-Kleeblatt

Führen Sie in Ihren Meetings und Reportings eine neue Spielregel ein und setzen sie konsequent durch: Ohne Maßnahmen-Kleeblatt wird nicht über eine Maßnahme diskutiert. Es mag zunächst zu Reibungsverlusten kommen, weil die Selbstdarsteller plötzlich ihres Lieblingsinstruments PowerPoint beraubt sind, doch mittel- und vor allem langfristig werden Sie messbare Verbesserungen feststellen.

Was uns bewegt

Seit einigen Monaten arbeiten an einem neuen Buch zum Thema „Herausforderungen an HR.“ Dort schreiben wir über Themen wie effizientes Recruiting, Performance-Management und darüber, wie produktive Zusammenarbeit zwischen Mitarbeitern verschiedener Altersstufen gestaltet werden kann. Haben Sie Input zu diesen Themen? Themenwünsche für das Buch? Oder gibt es Problemstellungen, die Sie bei HR immer wieder bemerken? Schreiben Sie uns!