Sancho Panza asks his master, Don Quixote, to make him an earl. He is convinced that the man who can do as he pleases is a satisfied man. He who is satisfied has no more desires. And as soon as one has no more desires, one has finally achieved everything that there is to achieve—and then, finally, one has reached the end.

To Sancho’s chagrin, “reaching the end” is naturally not the same as “reaching the goal”. It is all too easy for one to get comfortable after reaching a milestone. Celebrating success is important; it is also important not to sit on one’s laurels for too long.

Today we are talking about how you can prevent satisfaction from becoming complacency — and how to step in before it’s too late.

Enough! – What to do when you’re too satisfied

When a team, a department or a division reaches its goals, continuously and over many months or years, the (justified!) satisfaction may change, slowly and unnoticed, into contentment; “We no longer have to do so much or work so hard to keep the status quo!” Energy and enthusiasm drain from the routine, and the focus changes from all the things one can do, to all the things one no longer has to do.

In the advanced stages of this collective lethargy, chances may be ignored just as often as the risks. Innovations are no longer conceived, ideas no longer expressed. Employees are always busybusybusy, but actual productivity is at a level just enough to keep things comfortable. When your team reaches the point where – with otherwise the best numbers! – it is only holding itself above the waterline through collective complaining, that’s when you have to intervene.

There are numerous issues which can turn satisfaction into complacency:

  • a lack of enthusiasm for the company’s mission/vision,
  • goals set too low, or demands too modest,
  • excessive micromanagement, and
  • insufficient, vague, or constantly changing standards

are the most common.

If you notice complacency in your team, then you’ve already taken the most difficult and the most important step. Here are some possible measures that you as a manager can implement to bring life back into the system:

  • If lethargy hasn’t taken over yet, raise the bar, set still higher goals; try something new and initiate projects that challenge your employees.
  • Delegate more responsibility and – what’s important – track it consistently. In this way you create the need for your employees to move out of their comfort zone.
  • Avoid re-delegation and support employees with targeted coaching to master challenging tasks.

To keep the same complacency from creeping back in after some time, it is important to analyze these issues and change them fundamentally. That may well be difficult from inside the company, but it’s not impossible. (If you need help, read further below about CHANGE1.)

CHANGE1: Enough with “Good Enough!”

The deeper and longer you sit on the sofa, the harder it is to get back out. But you don’t need to throw out the whole sofa because of a dent — especially with creeping problems like complacency, it’s important to find the right time to introduce changes.

Use our compact CHANGE1 Workshop offer:

  • Concrete analysis and solutions for dealing with specific issues within your team, the department or the division.
  • During one or two days at your workplace with two consultants and about 8 participants from your company.
  • CHANGE1 is helpful for checking planned change processes and can be used as a touchstone in ongoing processes.
  • All this at a fixed price, including a report and two video conferences as a follow-up.

Before you give in—give us a call: +49-40-37644588

“Overall, alstracon made the difference to SAP based on its understanding of SAP’s business, and its deep expertise with regards to change management. alstracon was able to quickly connect with the various teams and team members and especially made the design team very productive in a very short time frame. Moreover, we especially appreciated alstracon’s very pragmatic approach.”

Sancho Panza bittet seinen Herrn Don Quixote, ihn zum Grafen zu machen. Er ist überzeugt: Wer tun kann wonach ihm ist, wird zufrieden. Wer zufrieden ist, hat keine Wünsche mehr. Und sobald man wunschlos ist, hat man endlich alles erreicht, was es zu erreichen gibt. Und dann, endlich, ist man am Ende angelangt.

Zu Sanchos Leidwesen ist „am Ende“ natürlich nicht dasselbe wie „am Ziel.“ Allzu leicht macht man es sich bequem, wenn man einen Meilenstein erreicht hat. Erfolge zu feiern ist wichtig, und ebenso wichtig ist es, nicht zu lange auf den Lorbeeren sitzen zu bleiben.

Heute schreiben wir darüber, wie Sie verhindern können, dass Zufriedenheit zu Bequemlichkeit wird — und wie Sie einschreiten, wenn es schon fast zu spät ist.

Mir reicht’s! – Was tun, wenn’s zu bequem wird?

Wenn ein Team, eine Abteilung oder ein Bereich seine Ziele erreicht – beständig und über viele Monate oder Jahre –, kann sich die (berechtigte!) Zufriedenheit leicht und unbemerkt in Genügsamkeit wandeln: „Wir müssen gar nicht mehr so viel oder angestrengt arbeiten, um den status quo zu halten!“ Energie und Begeisterung weichen der Routine, der Fokus wechselt von dem, was man alles tun kann auf all das, was man nicht mehr tun muss.

In fortgeschritteren Stadien dieser kollektiven Lethargie werden Chancen genauso ignoriert wie Risiken. Innovationen werden nicht mehr gedacht, Ideen totgeschwiegen. Mitarbeiter sind immer busybusybusy, aber die tatsächliche Produktivität genügt gerade so, um den bequemen Zustand zu halten. Spätestens wenn sich Ihr Team – bei ansonsten besten Zahlen! – nur durch gemeinsames Jammern über Wasser hält, müssen Sie intervenieren.

Es gibt zahlreiche Auslöser, durch die Zufriedenheit zu Genügsamkeit werden kann:

  • fehlende Begeisterung für die Mission/Vision des Unternehmens
  • zu niedrig gesetzte Ziele bzw. zu geringe Anforderungen
  • übermäßiges Micro-Management sowie
  • fehlende, ungenaue oder ständig wechselnde Vorgaben

sind dabei die häufigsten.

Wenn Sie als Teil eines genügsamen Teams das Problem bemerken, sind Sie den schwierigsten und wichtigsten Schritt der Erkenntnis schon gegangen. Hier sind einige mögliche Maßnahmen, die Sie als Führungskraft tun können, um wieder Schwung ins System zu bekommen:

  • Wenn die Lethargie noch nicht zu groß ist: Setzen Sie höhere Ziele, probieren Neues aus und initiieren Projekte, die die Mitarbeiter fordern.
  • Delegieren Sie mehr Verantwortung und – wichtig! – halten konsequent nach. So erzeugen Sie bei den Mitarbeitern die Notwendigkeit, aus der Komfortzone zu kommen.
  • Vermeiden Sie Rückdelegation und unterstützen Mitarbeiter mit gezieltem Coaching dabei, herausfordernde Aufgaben zu meistern.

Damit nach einiger Zeit dieselben Genügsamkeits-Muster nicht wieder zuschlagen, ist es wichtig sie zu analysieren und grundlegend zu verändern. Aus der Innensicht als Führungskraft ist das zwar schwierig, jedoch nicht unmöglich. (Wenn Sie Hilfe brauchen, lesen Sie weiter unten mehr über CHANGE1.)

CHANGE1: Genug mit der Genügsamkeit!

Je tiefer und länger man die Kuhle ins Sofa gesessen hat, umso schwieriger ist es, wieder herauszukommen. Wegen einer kleinen Delle aber wird man nicht das ganze Sofa auswechseln. Gerade bei schleichenden Problemen wie Genügsamkeit ist es wichtig, den richtigen Zeitpunkt abzupassen, um Veränderungen einzuleiten.

Nutzen Sie unser kompaktes Workshop-Angebot CHANGE1:

  • Konkrete Analyse und Lösungsimpulse bezogen auf konkrete Problemstellungen im Team, der Abteilung oder dem Bereich
  • an einem oder zwei Tagen bei Ihnen vor Ort mit zwei Beratern und ca. 8 Teilnehmern Ihres Unternehmens.
  • CHANGE1 ist hilfreich, um geplante Change-Prozesse zu prüfen und kann als Prüfstein in laufenden Prozessen eingesetzt werden.
  • Dies alles zum Festpreis, inklusive Bericht sowie zwei Videokonferenzen zur Nacharbeit.

Melden Sie sich bei uns: 040-37644588

“alstracon’s structured and pragmatic change management approach, their ability to understand our business quickly and incorporate this knowledge into the execution of the change was outstanding.” HR Director, Diageo