A couple argues about housework: She can’t relax until everything is cleaned up. For him, cleaning is the opposite of relaxing. Who takes care of the laundry and the dishwasher? Who mops, who cooks? She wants to divide the tasks whereas he does not see the need for the tasks.

This is a simple example of a goal conflict that we describe in the book Das Zugvogel-Prinzip (English edition Birds of a Feather in preparation). Of the four classic types of conflict, the goal conflict is the most common, and it is the one that is most easily managed.

How can conflicting goals be resolved? Taking a vacation together, in the hopes that their roles will be made clear as if by magic, will certainly not help the arguing couple. Likewise, classic team-building exercises in the company do not work because they too only affect the relationship level. The goal conflict arises on the factual level: If team members have different goals in sight, team-building is a waste of time and money.

Conflicting goals can be resolved only on the factual level: By finding common goals and working toward leadership alignment.

The Alignment Incentive in January 2015

The beginning of the year is still a relatively quiet time for many companies. Use this time to look at the teams whose performance was too low last year. Did all team members work toward common goals? Or did conflicting goals contribute to the fact that performance was below expectations?

Leadership Alignment requires both: a common goal and universally accepted criteria to measure successful progress.

Work on establishing and stabilizing both, and an increase in performance is almost inevitable.

Ein Paar streitet sich um die Hausarbeit: Sie kann sich erst entspannen, wenn alles aufgeräumt ist, für ihn ist Aufräumen das Gegenteil von Entspannen. Wer kümmert sich um die Wäsche und die Spülmaschine, wer wischt, wer kocht? Sie will die Aufgaben verteilen, er sieht die Notwendigkeit der Aufgaben nicht.

Das ist ein einfaches Beispiel für einen Zielkonflikt, den wir im Buch Das Zugvogel-Prinzip beschreiben. Von den vier klassischen Konflikt-Typen ist der Zielkonflikt der häufigste, und es ist der, den Sie am leichtesten in den Griff bekommen können.

Was kann Zielkonflikte lösen? Dem Paar hilft sicher kein gemeinsamer Urlaub in der Hoffnung, dass danach wie von Zauberhand die Rollenverteilung klar ist. Ebenso wenig wirken klassische Teambuilding-Maßnahmen im Unternehmen, denn auch sie wirken nur auf der Beziehungsebene. Der Zielkonflikt entsteht aber auf der Sachebene: Wenn Teammitglieder verschiedene Ziele im Visier haben, verschenken Sie mit Teambuilding Zeit und Geld.

Zielkonflikte können nur auf der Sachebene gelöst werden: Durch das Finden gemeinsamer Ziele und Schaffen von Leadership-Alignment.

Der Zugvogel-Impuls im Januar 2015

Zu Jahresbeginn ist es in vielen Unternehmen noch relativ ruhig. Nutzen Sie diese Zeit und schauen sich die Teams an, deren Performance im vergangenen Jahr zu niedrig war. Haben alle im Team gemeinsame Ziele verfolgt? Oder trugen Zielkonflikte dazu bei, dass die Leistung hinter den Erwartungen zurück geblieben war?

Leadership Alignment erfordert beides: ein gemeinsames Ziel und von allen akzeptierte Kriterien, um den Erfolgsfortschritt zu messen.

Arbeiten Sie darauf hin, beides stabil zu etablieren. Dann ist eine Steigerung der Performance fast unausweichlich.